Shavuot, Shalom, and Something Wonderful

For those who have stumbled here and wonder what in the world Shavuot is I will save you the searching time.  It is the Hebrew name for what most Christians know as Pentecost.  Yesterday(Sunday anyway), I preached a message about how God fulfilled this feast exactly as He had said it would be.  The readings that the Jews have done on this feast for 3500 years are fascinating to see and compare with what God did in Acts 2.  I included the readings from Exodus 19-20, and from Ezekiel 1:1-28 and 3:12 along with the story in Acts in the devotional in my last post.

I guess in my heart I will always have a special place now for Shavuot.  This is the first of the Lord’s Feasts that I resolved to celebrate, and it has been a blessing.  I am staying up all night tonight (Lord willing) and studying and writing what God says to me during this time.  Tonight we involved the kids before their (somewhat later than normal) bedtime.  We read some of the Scripture readings set aside for this day and ate some honey buttermilk biscuits(which were very good) that I actually mixed up myself.  OK, I used one of those Betty Crocker just add water mixes, but I did it myself.  Today, I also received my study materials from First Fruits of Zion.  They were given to me very graciously by another brother in the Lord.  I am going to stay up studying in those materials for part of the night.  I figure I can handle it, after all I was a youth pastor for 15 years.  : )

I will probably blog at least one more post tonight.  In the meantime, shalom to you all.  May God richly bless you.

Categories: Feasts, Hebrew, Messiah, Sabbath, Shavuot, Yeshua | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

