Does Todd Bentley have Angels in the Outfield?

And if he does, what kind of angels are they? I have already written one post critical of his antics and violence, but then I saw a couple of posts about his ministry and some of his questionable teaching, so I thought I would take another few minutes to highlight another troubling aspect of this ministry, his exaltation of angels. By the way, if you want a firsthand account of the revival from a believer who went to check it out, look here.

I found a “teaching” or sermon or something by Todd Bentley about angels.  I was able to read most of it with some disagreements here and there, that is until I ran into this whopper.

Recently, I had an angel come to me in Kansas City. He said, “Todd, my name is Promise, and I’ve come to bring the fulfillment of God’s promises. I’ve come to bring the fulfillment of the prophetic words spoken to intercessors. I have come for those who have been like Hannah-they have prayed, waited and carried a promise in their hearts. There will come a time when God has heard and I will release the Samuel,” Be encouraged-there is an angel called promise that is involved in bringing your intercessory breakthrough. When this angel comes into my meetings people get breakthrough and answered prayers.

What in the world does this mean?  This is in direct contradiction to God’s Word.  Look at what Paul says in 2 Corinthians1:18-22

18But as surely as God is faithful, our message to you is not “Yes” and “No.” 19For the Son of God, Jesus Christ, who was preached among you by me and Silas and Timothy, was not “Yes” and “No,” but in him it has always been “Yes.” 20For no matter how many promises God has made, they are “Yes” in Christ. And so through him the “Amen” is spoken by us to the glory of God. 21Now it is God who makes both us and you stand firm in Christ. He anointed us, 22set his seal of ownership on us, and put his Spirit in our hearts as a deposit, guaranteeing what is to come.

Why is there an “angel” named Promise doing Christ’s job.  What does Paul say here?  Through Christ, the “Amen” is spoken by us to the glory of God.  If God has made a promise to you, He doesn’t need an angel to make it happen.  Christ has already done it.  I suppose you could say, “It is finished”!

But it gets worse. He also gives angels the duty of intercession:

So when I need a financial breakthrough I don’t just pray and ask God for my financial breakthrough. I go into intercession and become a partner with the angels by petitioning the Father for the angels that are assigned to getting me money: “Father, give me the angels in heaven right now that are assigned to get me money and wealth. And let those angels be released on my behalf. Let them go into the four corners of the earth and gather me money. Let them gather my partners.”

You know why it’s important to pray like this? Because the Devil wants to cut off your cash flow. He wants to hinder and block your finances. He wants to do whatever he can to hinder you from receiving the blessing and provision that God has for you. Sometimes praying about it isn’t good enough because you need to prevail in heaven where the angels and demons are actually fighting. We want to push back the demonic forces, so sometimes we need to say, “Father, let those legions of angels assigned to release financial breakthrough, come into the earth right now and loose the Devil from the money assigned to me. I call in that money in the name of Jesus.” Sometimes when I pray this way, bam! . I’ve got the money I need within a few days. Yes, I get financial breakthrough because God is my source. If man doesn’t have it for me, God does. Yet the Devil is trying to keep it from getting to me. Even though God heard me on the first day, the Devil wants to delay it 21 days or as long as he can. But I’ve got to get the angels involved with my incense and say, “C’mon God, let those angels come and help fulfill your word-you promised me the blessing of the Lord that makes one rich and You add no sorrow with it.” (emphasis mine)

That doesn’t wash with Scripture either.  Christ is our intercessor.  Hebrews 7:23-25 says, “23Now there have been many of those priests, since death prevented them from continuing in office; 24but because Jesus lives forever, he has a permanent priesthood. 25Therefore he is able to save completely those who come to God through him, because He always lives to intercede for them.”(emphasis mine)

He said later in the message, “Some of you don’t know how to use the angels in intercession like this. You don’t even know whether it’s OK or not.”  There is a good reason for the confusion.  People who know the Word of God also know that something isn’t right here.  The only intercessor we have is Christ or the Holy Spirit.

The troubling thing is that there is plenty of mentions of Christ here and there, but there is so much that is in error or contradictory to Scripture.  I can’t help but be reminded of the passage in Colossians 2:18-19

18Do not let anyone who delights in false humility and the worship of angels disqualify you for the prize. Such a person goes into great detail about what he has seen, and his unspiritual mind puffs him up with idle notions. 19He has lost connection with the Head, from whom the whole body, supported and held together by its ligaments and sinews, grows as God causes it to grow.

This entire message(that I have quoted from in this post) is a long series of descriptions of what he has seen and he derives much of his teaching from his experience with a little Scripture thrown around to make it seem correct.  What he has instead done is bring verse 18 above to a very literal fulfillment.

Please understand that my main concern here is for discernment.  There are enough red flags in this minstry to start a running of the bulls.  I truly feel that we are in the last days and must be especially vigilant against those who seek to proclaim a different Gospel.  Galatians 1:6-9:

6I am astonished that you are so quickly deserting the one who called you by the grace of Christ and are turning to a different gospel— 7which is really no gospel at all. Evidently some people are throwing you into confusion and are trying to pervert the gospel of Christ. 8But even if we or an angel from heaven should preach a gospel other than the one we preached to you, let him be eternally condemned! 9As we have already said, so now I say again: If anybody is preaching to you a gospel other than what you accepted, let him be eternally condemned!

Categories: False Teachers, Heresy | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Does Todd Bentley have Angels in the Outfield?

  1. Pingback: Learning from the Todd Bentley Disaster « Jeofurry’s Jesus Journey

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

