Watching for Signs in the Stars

In a continuation of a running theme here on the blog, I have a new and interesting observation to pass along.  I owe much thanks to my good friend Eric for pointing me in the direction of this little tidbit.  It turns out that a couple of years ago, the Hubble telescope spotted a strange object in the sky.  The scientists observed it for about 100 days, but could never figure out what the object was or where it came from and then it disappeared and left them with a bigger mystery.  We are just getting the news now because it was published in a scientific journal.  You can see the news story about by clicking on the link above.  Now, what does this have to do with signs in the stars you say?  Well, it turns out that the mystery object appeared in the sky in the constellation Bootes.  I have been intrigued for years with the notion that God placed His Gospel in the sky as a witness to all.  It fits with Paul’s statements of Romans 1 that all men are without excuse, because interestingly, the zodiac and collateral constellations seem to be much the same throughout most people groups.  It shows that they have a common beginning and history and could be traced to an early message of God and His plan for us.  Indeed some people have made a case for this.  An excellent book on this subject is The Witness of the Stars by E.W. Bollinger.  It can be read for free online is available at philologos.com.  The section having to do with Bootes can be found in chapter 1, but I will give a quick rundown here.  Bootes is referred to as “the coming one”.  He is described like this:

He is pictured as a man walking rapidly, with a spear in his right hand and a sickle in his left hand.

The Greeks called him Bo-o-tes, which is from the Hebrew root Bo (to come), meaning the coming. It is referred to in Psalm 96:13:

“For He cometh,
For He cometh to judge the earth;
He shall judge the world in righteousness,
And the people with His truth.”

So we have an object appearing in the sky in the constellation that speaks of the coming one.  We know that Christ is coming again to the earth.  And there is an image of Him in Revelation 14:14 with a sickle in his hand, “Then I looked, and behold, a white cloud, and sitting on the cloud was one like a son of man, having a golden crown on His head and a sharp sickle in His hand.”   But this isn’t the only interesting piece of this story.  The object itself is a puzzler.  The scientists don’t know what to make of it and the article quoted them with some very interesting observations:

The mystery object did not behave like any known kind of supernova. It is not even in any detectable galaxy. “The shape of the light curve is inconsistent with microlensing,” say the researchers. They recorded three spectra of it — and its spectrum, they write, “in addition to being inconsistent with all known supernova types, is not matched to any spectrum in the Sloan Digital Sky Survey database” of vast numbers of objects. “We suggest that the transient may be one of a new class.” (emphasis added)

So, the scientists cannot figure out what they are looking at and figure it is something new and unknown.  It could be something very old and unobserved previously, and frankly I find it interesting that it was recorded with three spectra.  We are approaching a time of year when watching for the Lord is of paramount interest as I have mentioned before.  It is interesting to me when things seem to keep stacking up.  I cannot say for certain what God is planning for our near future if anything, but I can say that we are seeing an increase in the types of signs that “get people’s attention”.  I lose track of how many people make comments to me about it seeming like the last days, even nonbelievers.  I use to have a ready joke when people told me I spoke too much about the end times or the last days.  They would say, “I have heard that kind of stuff all my life and it still hasn’t happened.”  I would reply, “Maybe not yet, but it is at least one day closer than yesterday.”  The point is that Jesus is going to come again.  I cannot tell you the exact time.  But I can tell you that it will happen, and I believe it is going to be within our lifetimes.  I know; you have heard that before and so have generations before us.  But it will happen sometime, and we are commanded to live and watch as if it can happen today. 

 

Categories: Bible Thoughts, Christianity, End Times, Gospel, Prophecy, Signs of the Times | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Watching for Signs in the Stars

  1. Hi jeofurry, it was nice meeting you through Munara’s e-mails! I like your post. It reminds me of something similar I wrote a little while ago: http://capturedbygod.wordpress.com/2008/08/22/gods-signature/. I hope you’ll visit! God bless.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

