I am That Masked Man

I couldn’t resist using the title.  It has now been just over a week or so since I started using the CPAP(continuous positive airway pressure) therapy to treat my sleep apnea.  The first week I was using one of those masks that covers your nose and sits on the front of the face.  It worked OK, but took some getting used to before I could really go to sleep.  It also caused pain on my face from the pressure and irritated a couple of places to the point they became sore, so I switched masks.  Now I have a mask design that uses what they call nasal pillows.  I included a picture of it here.

mirage-swift-ii-np-240x241

I actually like this mask much better and the treatment is really helping me.  I no longer wake up like a bear trying to stop hibernation too early in a groggy fog, and I am not run down tired in the middle of the day either.  The lady from the sleep center that did the testing told me that I should spread the news to family and friends who might have this problem as well, since sleep apnea can have serious health consequences, beyond the fact that people might be scared to sleep in the same room when you are snoring.  I included a link to WebMD’s information about it or you can go and look for more on your own if you want.  Either way, if you suspect you might have it or if there is a family history or pattern of it or even of heart disease (sleep apnea really makes the heart work overtime) get it checked out.  Fill out a questionaire.  Try and go to sleep with a dozen wires attached to your head and body.  It is worth it.

Categories: CPAP, Health, personal, Sleep Apnea | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “I am That Masked Man

  1. Very interesting.

    I’m glad you are sleeping better at night and are more rested.

    My ex-wife tried to get me to wear a mask at night.

    She said she’d pump in some sort of special ‘sleeping gas’.

    I got out while the gettin’ was good.

  2. I am just trying to be a good boy and spread the word like the nice folks who gave me the machine asked. I have been snoring for years, but the stopping breathing is the bad part. Glad to hear you were able to resist and escape.

  3. I am trying to lose weight, that should help, and I found some over the counter Snore stop. If that doesn’t work I will join the gang and mask up!

  4. I was hoping that losing weight would help, as I can use all the motivation I can get for that endeavor as well, but I used to snore like a wild bear even when I was skinny. I pray that your efforts bear fruit. If not, the mask isn’t so bad. I am actually getting used to it after only a week and a half.

  5. ginabob

    Well 2/3 of us…. I guess I am glad that I am getting tested. If you and big, big bro have it my odds aren’t great huh. Would be nice to wake up and actually feel like I slept. I actually cannot imagine what that would be like!

  6. masked newbie

    i am writing this the afternoon after the first night with my new cpap. i am completely exausted! didn’t sleep much last night. at around 3pm i tore that mask off my face a said a few curse words, remade my bed put the mask back on and tried again.
    i’ve been told that it just takes time to get used to it, but will i survive the adjustment period? i suppose i will. anything is better than the two sleep studies i had to endure just to get this evil machine. any words of encouragement would be much appreciated… i will keep everyone posted with any progress ( if any). in the coming days/weeks.

  7. Hang in there. It does get easier and it is worth it. I still don’t always go right to sleep, but I don’t lay awake for hours anymore with the mask on either. The type of mask you use can make a big difference too. I tried one of the bigger masks at first, but I really like the nasal mask that shows in the picture on this post much better.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

