Friendship?!?

I was looking at news on the web after the Super Bowl game the other night and ran across this story from one of the tv stations in New York about problems with cable reception in one of the buildings in Manhattan.  They have since removed the original, but Google has it in their cache and you can see it there for however long that lasts.  The saddest thing in the article to me is the quote from one of the people in the building:

“We called them and they told us to cycle the power and nothing happened,” said (name edited out by me), another upset customer. “I’m filled with the rage of a thousand suns, actually. It ruined my party and I made chili and everyone I know came over and now they left and I think I might not have friends anymore.”

My first reaction is that this has got to be one of the worst overreactions to a minor inconvenience that I have ever seen.  But I started thinking, if this woman really thinks she is going to lose all of her friends over this, what kind of friends does she have?

I am going to bet that this is hyperbole on steroids and she can’t possibly be serious.  I used to work for a call center that handled warranty and service issues for TV’s among other things and quickly learned to dread the lead up to the super bowl, because some people get really insane when it comes to their TV not working for the “biggest event of their life.”  So I hope it is just the super bowl party madness talking and that is why I removed her name.  I don’t want to compound her misery.  I do hope and pray that her friends are better than she gives them credit for here.  If not, there is a friend that sticks closer than a brother (Proverbs 18:24).

Categories: friends, Humor, Uncategorized | 15 Comments

Post navigation

15 thoughts on “Friendship?!?

  1. I will eat cold chili with you anytime. !

  2. Someday, I may have to take you up on that. If you ever find yourself headed out west in the North Dakota direction, give me a buzz. I will do the same if I am ever heading toward your neck of the woods.

  3. Jeff,

    The poor lady. I do feel badly for her, but of course you are right. Friends that would disown her over that are not worth having.

  4. Pingback: Football, Basketball, Hockey, NASCAR » Blog Archive » Friendship?!? « Jeofurry’S Jesus Journey

  5. What is this a friendship circle? Jeofurry, Willo, and theoldadam…Nice.

    Thanks for stopping by Jeff. Or Jeofurry, whichever you’d rather me call you…I appreciate the thoughts and encouragement. It isn’t taken lightly. I’ll stop by now and then to see what’s going on over here.

    Thanks,
    Hope (call me that., not trumpet)

  6. You got it Hope. You can just call me Jeff. Jeofurry is a nickname from my HS days. I am always glad to encourage another music enthusiast. Music is a powerful thing and brings a lot of joy to me personally.

  7. Yeah. It’s my passion. Do you still play? I see you’re religious. How long have you been a Christian?

  8. I still play every once in a while. I haven’t played much since we left Rapid City and I really miss playing with the symphony too. I have tried to start playing the Shofar(the Biblical trumpet) with limited success. The mouthpiece is pretty small, but it sounds cool. I also play guitar pretty well and I can hammer chords on a piano. I end up leading music at the church when needed as well.
    I gave my whole life to Christ the summer after my senior year of HS, in 1992. Before that, I had called myself a Christian but lived life my way for the most part. I was raised in a Christian home, so I knew all the right answers, but it was that summer that I made a personal commitment and a personal decision to follow Jesus.

  9. I’ve never seen a Shofar. Is the mouthpiece similar to the trumpet one?

    That’s cool. So you’re like what, 35? (I like math 🙂 ) Did you like growing up in church, or did it suck?

  10. You are close. I will be 35 in September. I actually did like growing up in church. My parents weren’t the type that made us go every time the door was open, but they did encourage us to go. And my grandmother who lived next door was the most Godly person I think I have ever known. Her influence on me was pretty strong.
    A shofar is made out of a ram’s horn or similar material and there are a few different types. If you google it, you can get some pretty good pictures. I have a Yemenite shofar from Israel that I got late last summer. The mouthpiece is the hollowed out area at the small end. It is similar in appearance to a mouthpiece for a trumpet or a french horn, but it is formed by boring out the end of the animal’s horn. There are some videos on youtube of guys playing them as well like this one: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0jR20-0sy1Y
    P.S. The long loud blast that he plays for the last 10 seconds of this clip is what the Jews mean when they refer to the “last trump.” He is blowing the pattern of blasts that the Jews use to celebrate the Feast of Trumpets.

  11. Now you’ve got me wanting to try and see if I could play that thing. It’s not exactly what I expected it to look like, at all.

    Why did you decide to fully commit yourself your senior year?

  12. It was one of those times in my life where God showed up and made Himself plain to me. Without telling a long story in the comments here, I will try and give the cliff note’s version. It’s kinda ironic, because for several years I had to choose between going to band camp or church camp during the summer because they fell on the same week. I always chose band camp, because that was more fun for me. After my senior year in HS, I was too old to go to band camp and the opportunity arose for me to go to church camp as a helper more than as a camper. I wasn’t going to do it, but God convinced me one night about a week before with a display of lightning. (It sounds cheesy maybe, but I don’t believe in coincidences and I have never seen lightning fill up an entire sky ever before or since that night.) The whole week at camp it seemed like every speaker’s message was aimed right at me. Especially the missionary they had brought in for the week. But I was pretty stubborn and refused to respond to any invitation that was given at any service. The last night of camp was always one of those services where the message is preached and people respond and so forth, but it wasn’t like that that year. When that time of initiation to respond to God was over, I felt a weird sense of relief, the conviction that I was under was gone. But the next day, that missionary preached and I don’t even know what he said anymore. I do know that I had a decision to make though. It was time to “fish or cut bait” as they say. Or maybe you could relate better to “put up or shut up.” It is always hard with figures of speech. I had claimed to follow God for years, but in my heart I knew it was just lip service. I said one thing and did another with little care or thought. That day, I told God that the rest of my life belonged to Him. Wherever He sent me, I would go. Whatever He told me, I would do. I learned later that the word repent in the Bible is well defined as a change in the way you think and act, and prior to that time I hadn’t really done either one. From that day forward, I was a different person. Every day since has been a journey and a process of learning to trust and obey God day by day and moment by moment. And it has been the greatest ride of my life. I never imagined the things God had in store for me. And that may be a too long an answer to a short question. God is good and I finally learned it firsthand that day.

  13. “Without telling a long story in the comments here, I will try and give the cliff note’s version. ” I busted out laughing when I read that and then looked at the length of your comment. My apologies.

    I don’t think I’ve gotten to the point ever in my life where I’ve totally dedicated myself. When I was a kid I was really dedicated and if I hadn’t gone through the stage of being an Atheist for a few years…I may have reached that point. But now? I’m starting over and re-learning things. I hate it.

    Thanks for sharing your story. I really appreciate it.

  14. You gotta realize, I am a preacher now. That is the cliff notes version. : )
    Don’t worry about starting over and relearning things. I think sometimes of all the years I wasted pretending as well, but I know that God has used that time to help me grow. If Christianity is at all like a race, it is a marathon and there isn’t a prize for getting the quickest time. The prize is for finishing the course. (Heb. 12:1-3)

  15. Oh, you’re a preacher too? Nice. Another preacher for me to make fun of. Sweet!

    I’ve heard it as a marathon, I get it. But when you’re going from being an Atheist to a Christian…I dont know. It’s just different and I don’t know how to explain it. It really sucks and its frustrating.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

