Are you ready for the end of Time?

If you look around the blog here for a while, you will discover that I have a keen interest in escatology (study of the end times for those who didn’t know).  I am not one to set dates or wear loose fitting clothes to avoid “rapture rash” as my fellow blogger Willohroots feared.  But I am convinced that Christ will return on time at the right time.  He hasn’t missed keeping a promise yet and so I trust His Word.  When I was younger, it seemed like I used every opportunity that I got to preach to preach about the end times.  Because of that, I often heard comments along the lines of “haven’t Christians been saying that for 2000 years” or “I don’t know if I believe that will happen in my lifetime or not” or something like that.  People were kind about it, but it led me to add a saying in my messages that touched on that subject.  I can’t guarantee that it will happen today or tomorrow, but I can guarantee that it is one day closer than it was yesterday.  (I know, it is terribly pithy, but it stopped the comments)

Today, I ran across an article about the Billy Graham Association.  They have apparently decided to have an emphasis on the “end times” in 2009.  But the thing that really caught my eye was a statement attributed to Billy Graham in the article.

“If that happens today, are you ready?” Graham poses.

The world renowned evangelist also reminds believers that regardless of when Christ returns, the end of the world does come for each and every single person – the moment that they die.

“[A]nd that could be at any time for any of us. We never know,” Graham states.

“What have you done to prepare for that moment when your heart stops beating?

Frankly, one of the other points I have always tried to drive home in my years of ministry is the fact that none of us can predict or know the day we will pass from this life.  It goes beyond debates about pre-trib or post-trib or a-trib or no-trib and cuts to the heart of the matter.  Whether Christ returns in my lifetime or not, I will face Him one day.  Am I going to try and face Him on my own merits or with only the gift He has given me?  The first method is doomed to failure.  For the wages of sin is death, but the gift of God is eternal life in Christ Jesus our Lord.  The end of your world may not come at the same time as it does for everyone else, but it will come.  Are you ready for the end of your time?

Categories: Christianity, devotional, End Times, Gospel, Grace, Kingdom, Prophecy, Salvation, Signs of the Times | 10 Comments

Post navigation

10 thoughts on “Are you ready for the end of Time?

  1. You can gage all things by the history of scripture!Therefore everything is going perfectly,title for title and
    dot….

  2. Are you kidding?

    I’m ready right now! Wrap it up, Lord!

    Please!

  3. Nah I aint ready. I want to live a life. I’m too young to go to heaven (or hell…which I also dont think I believe in) now! I pray it doesn’t happen in my lifetime…if it really is going to happen (which I’m not sure I believe in it).

    I used to love eschatology (I think you spelled it wrong..) when I was a Christian. I was always a post-trib but when I started to learn more my views started to drift a bit. It’s been 3 years since I really was into it so I can’t tell you what I exactly wound up believing. Are you post trib?

  4. Is a-mill post-trib a real thought group?

    I have thought about this a lot. When He comes, I want to go. I’m glad there will be no quiz!

  5. The older I get, the less stock I put into worrying or thinking or debating about it. I have a friend online that is a pastor who says he is “pan-trib” meaning that no matter what he thinks about it it will all pan out in the end. I agree with that view more and more. I know he is returning and I know that he will come back for me, and that is good enough for me.

  6. I like that. I think I am more on th A-mill side because i am anti-dispensationalist, and because until the Scofield nobody preached or taught to an eminent Rapture before obvious tribulation..There is a church downtown that has pre-tribulation right on their sign. they do not get many visitors, that is not a great starting place for the Gospel.
    pan trib. I like it.

  7. Pan trib? Cute.

  8. Thanks. Like I said, I didn’t come up with it, but it accurately reflects my feelings on the subject these days. I was raised as a pre-trib rapture guy, but I have a hard time defending that position anymore.

  9. Beth

    In Sam Shoemaker’s book “Under New Management” (p. 72) Billy Graham referred to the increase in house churches and stated: “Perhaps the Holy Spirit is getting His church ready for a trial and tribulation such as the world has never known.” (This was based on Matt. 24:21.) And currently on engines like Google is “Letter from Mrs. Billy Graham” in which she stated that she would rather be prepared to go through the tribulation than not be prepared. Although I have never heard the Grahams apply labels (like pretrib, posttrib etc.) to themselves, they have stated that Christians should be ready for anything in the future. God bless the Grahams! Beth

  10. Beth,
    Thanks for your comments. I had not heard about any of that, but it is encouraging to know.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

