Tearing down the walls

It has been a little over a month since I switched to writing all of my online blather at just this location.  I wrote a post about it at the time that you can see here.  One of the main convictions for doing it was a need to put all of my life in “one place” so to speak.  The InternetMonk has written an excellent piece that spells this out much more succinctly than I ever put it.  The point of fact is that the world tempts us to split ourselves so to speak.  Christianity is a call to wholeness.  God is giving us the chance to live as we were meant to live, in fellowship with Him and in truth with Him and with ourselves and others.  It can be and ususally is hard to do this.  It goes against our nature.  I would venture to say that most all of us have things that we are scared to see in the light of day.  We are fearful of what others would think of us, or even what we might think of ourselves in a moment of sober reflection.  I pray that everything you see here: the good, the weird, the funny, the serious, the wrong, and all the rest is just what I am.  It is me being honest about the journey that I have taken and will continue to take to follow my Lord and Savior day by day.

Categories: Christianity, devotional, Discipleship, InternetMonk, personal | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “Tearing down the walls

  1. “I would venture to say that most all of us have things that we are scared to see in the light of day. We are fearful of what others would think of us, or even what we might think of ourselves in a moment of sober reflection. ”

    Jeff,

    I think you are right on, there. We are afraid to be ourselves…to be found out.

    And to think, He knows about it… all of it.

    And He still loves and forgives us.

    What a great God we have, in our Lord Jesus!

    Thanks a lot, Jeff!

  2. As humans we are amazingly complex constructions of the Creator. One way to look at Sanctification could be putting all our stuff in a Jesus shaped box. Some stuff just doesn’t fit in there and must be discarded. Praise God for His Patience!

  3. Will,
    I really like that analogy. I may have to use that in a sermon someday.

    Steve,
    You have touched on the most amazing thing I know about God. He knows me completely and still loves me completely.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

