Write Your Own Bible

No, I am not talking about revising God’s Word to match your own theology.  I am talking about a story I saw today about a project being done by Zondervan publishers in honor of the 30th anniversary of their NIV translation of the Bible.  They have been going around the country having people hand write the Bible a verse at a time in 2 copies to create a handwritten NIV Bible.  I actually think this is a neat idea.  It reminds me of something we did back in my college days.

Every year we would do a New Testament Read-a-thon with our college Baptist Student group.  We would set up a table in the student union on campus and have two readers at a time alternate reading chapters from Matthew to Revelation out loud.  It always took us all day, but it was a great experience.

Categories: Bible Thoughts, personal | 17 Comments

Post navigation

17 thoughts on “Write Your Own Bible

  1. From memory? Or were they allowed to cheat?

  2. The Bishop and leaders of the ELCA are writing their own Bibles…from memory, by the way their goofy understanding of it is wrecking our church.

  3. Actually, from what I could tell from the story, they were simply copying a verse from an NIV translation of the Bible in order. Like the first person writes out Genesis 1:1 and the next Genesis 1:2 and so on.

    Scary stuff that you mention Steve, but they wouldn’t be the first. I was just reading about Marcion trying to create his own version of Luke back in the day.

  4. Jeff,

    Yeah, I did understand what you meant, Jeff…I was just blowing off steam.

    And you are right…the more things change, the more they stay the same!

    Thanks Jeff!

    – Steve

  5. Steve,
    I was also answering Hope’s question. I thought I detected a little frustration in yours. Don’t worry, even Paul found the need to get sarcastic a couple of times.
    These are perilous days that we live in.

  6. “Don’t worry, even Paul found the need to get sarcastic a couple of times.
    These are perilous days that we live in.”

    Thanks, Jeff.

    – steve

  7. Is that the Nearly Inspired Version?

    Steve, I hear you, there are a lot of people writing their own version.

  8. Willohroots,

    “Is that the Nearly Inspired Version? ”

    Good one!! 😀

  9. This discussion got me to thinking about something. You know, I have long been one of those geek types that reads the translation philosophy in the front of a Bible before I will buy it. I certainly read them before I will read or use a translation. This semester, I am taking Greek language tools at Liberty and I have a new found appreciation for those translation teams. The guy that wrote our textbook for the class was part of the ESV team and he has a lot to say about translating the Scriptures.
    The “modern” translations aren’t all bad, and if we read them with a understanding of the translating team’s mindsets, they can be an invaluable tool to shed light on all of Scripture for us.
    So here is my heresy for the day, I am not a KJV only guy and I really never have been. I know that some out there say it in the only inspired translation or something to that effect, but I just can’t buy it.

  10. “So here is my heresy for the day, I am not a KJV only guy and I really never have been. I know that some out there say it in the only inspired translation or something to that effect, but I just can’t buy it.”

    Sure you can…$21.95 down at the Christian bookstore down the street. 😀

    Me neither, Jeff.

    My favorite is the RSV. The New English isn’t bad either.

  11. Gina

    I have ESV for my new Study Bible for school and I really like it. It seems like a very straightforward translation that follows. When I look up Greek/Hebrew I usually agree with what they are doing. Wow… I’m a translation geek. 🙂

    G

  12. Steve,
    I just saw a story that makes your earlier comments on this post a little more understandable to me I think. It was about the ELCA’s deliberations on clergy and homosexuality. I can’t believe what I am reading when someone says stuff like this.

    The Rev. Rick Roberts, pastor of St. John’s Lutheran Church in Donelson, said members of his church are split on the issue. He believes the new proposal provides a workable solution. “It’s time for us to make a decision and move on,” Roberts said.

    Roberts points out that while Jesus described marriage as being between a man and a woman, he never addressed homosexuality.

    “I wish Jesus had said something about this, but he didn’t,” Roberts said.

    How can someone say that a positive statement about marriage between a man and a woman doesn’t reflect an attitude about homosexuality? Isn’t that what makes all of these homosexual movements mad about the current legislative efforts to define marriage?

  13. The Bible speaks about homosexuality and quite clearly.

    These people want to throw out God’s law and make it up according to their own ideas of generous reaon.

    They are ruining the church.

    We accept homosexuals into the church, we just do not want them flaunting or advocating their sin.

    That’s what the new breed of leadership in the ELCA wants to do.

    It is enough to make you lose your lunch.

  14. We accept homosexuals into the church, we just do not want them flaunting or advocating their sin.
    We had a discussion about this at our Bible study Thursday night. Homosexuality has become such a big deal, and part of the reason is because we allow one side of the discussion to define it in terms of human logic rather than in light of Scripture. There is no other category of sin that I can name that people willingly self-identify with and expect other people to say is OK. How many folks would suggest that we should just understand a drug addict’s struggles and let them be addicted to drugs. Or what about a man who has a tendency toward lying or stealing. All of us are rebels against God and we are all born that way (yes, I would say that homosexuals are born that way in this sense). There is no ground or place in the Bible for giving the green light to sin. I will be preaching 1 Corinthians 5 next week and it talks about someone who is sinning flagrantly and openly and trying to say it isn’t a problem or a big deal. It is a big deal. My heart grieves for the ELCA and those who belong to it that are going to feel the pain of this decision on both sides.
    In theory, this would open the door for a man who doesn’t want to commit to marriage, but is monogamous with a woman for a long period of time as well I suppose.

  15. Jeff,

    We all have sin or sins that we struggle with our entire lives.

    Luther said that being sorry for your sin is enough (you are repentant).

    Fat people (like me) would be excluded from God’s grace if it depended on what we do,

  16. Repentance and forgiveness…over and over and over…the life of the Christian.

  17. Steve,
    I agree with you. The thing about repentance is that it is an admission of guilt and wrongdoing. It is an affirmation in the case of God that He is right and I am wrong. I don’t see that from those pushing the normalization of homosexuality. They are telling God that He is in the wrong and trying to claim that they are still in fellowship with Him. That doesn’t compute.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

