Boundaries with No Markers

I live pretty close to the border between the US and Canada.  When we travel to Canada, we have to go through a border checkpoint.  I even have a picture of the kids standing next to the marker stone at the border that we took the first time we crossed.  But there is no fence there, and it is hard to tell where the exact “boundary line” might be based on a single marker standing out there.  With more markers visible, the line becomes easier to identify or imagine.

But apparently, this very common sense concept doesn’t translate well for some people.  A few days ago, I happened upon a story with the headline, “Parents Told: Avoid Morality in Sex Lessons.”  A headline that dumb peaked my interest and I had to see what they were saying.  The article itself attempted to show a balance of those who agree with the idea of educating people on “boundaries” without imposing any “markers” and those who recognized the folly of such a view.  Then came the killer quote from a professed expert:

Linda Blair, a clinical psychologist, said educating older children and teenagers about sex had to be a process of negotiation. “We do not know what is right and wrong; right and wrong is relative, although your child does need clear guidelines,” she said.

It is statements like these that make me wonder if people like this listen to what they say or if they just say things and hope to look smart.  How can you give any guidelines on anything when you refuse to accept the idea that there are any concrete standards of any kind?  How can you have a boundary without any markers to define it in any way?

Categories: Apologetics, Truth | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Boundaries with No Markers

  1. I don’t know whether to laugh (sarcastically), scream, cry, hit my head with a “D’oh!” or what.

    This has got to be the stupidest quote I have ever read in my life: “We do not know what is right and wrong; right and wrong is relative, although your child does need clear guidelines.”

    I wonder what Linda would say if I went over to her house and slashed the tires on her car. Would she call the police and report me? I’d just have to tell her, “Hey Linda, it’s all relative!”

    Argh!

  2. Jeff,

    By the way, this post has earned you some real estate on my blog. Sadly, I can’t promise you a bunch of traffic (yet). 😉

    In Christ,

    Joe.

  3. Joe,
    Thank you for the honor. As a recurring reader, I will add you to my blogroll as well, with the same knowledge that it might not increase your traffic much either. But I can guarantee that it is always good to find another brother in the Lord and a little electronic fellowship is good too.

  4. By the way, I kept that article link for two or three days before I could stop laughing and crying over that quote enough to write anything about it. It might have taken longer if I hadn’t already heard that kind of silly talk before sadly.

  5. Jeff,

    I wouldn’t expect anything else from today’s university educated psychologists.

    Linda Blair? Do the words tubular bells mean anything to you (ring a bell)?

    No wonder she’s all mixed up…her head is screwed on backwards! 😀

    I too, have put a link to your blog on my blog. Have your girl call my girl and we’ll do lunch.

  6. I thought, at first that the headline made sense. Why teach your kids morality from a sex ed. book. Then it hit, don’t teach morality as you teach sex. Why imagine, if we did not teach a moral lesson about sex, venereal disease would be rampant, young boys would become predators, young girls would have babies, or abortions, and more people might think a homosexual lifestyle is an good choice.
    Oh yeah, that is where we are today. What a shame.
    I wish the churches would feel more comfortable discussing sex.

  7. Steve,
    With the temp back below zero yet again today and tonight a lunch in sunny California sounds pretty tempting right now. But it is a long way to go. And I was tempted to make a comment or two about that name as well, but I exercised (exorcised?) discretion on that one. 🙂

    Will,
    You might be on to something there. If only more people could figure that one out, we might have a chance. I have started the “bird and the bees” conversation with our oldest and doing it in stages to allow him to keep his innocence for as long as possible, but still prepare him for this insane world we live in so that he won’t be caught unaware or off guard.

  8. the notion seems to be that guilt for pre-marital sexual encounters derives from parental teaching and that if we can just eliminate that teaching there will be no guilt.

    its salvation by therapy.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

