Daylight Savings Time Insomnia

My friends in the blogging universe are all out there stirring the pot.  They are asking questions about evolution, or whether Mormons are Christians; you know the heavy hitting stuff.  I am sitting here at 2 AM trying to figure out why all three of our kids are wide awake at the same time.  Best I can figure, it is that pesky daylight savings time.  It already monkeyed with Sunday and came way too early this year it seemed.  We have a winter storm advisory and a blizzard warning to our south and yet the days just got a whole lot longer and spring is supposed to be in the air.  There isn’t a single person asleep in this house right now.  It is just weird.  It is nights like this that make me glad we homeschool, because I would absolutely dread getting kids up and ready for public school after all of this.  What do you think?  Does daylight savings time mess up internal clocks or is it just in our mind?

P.S. If you are struggling with insomnia, consider checking out my sermon mp3s at the church’s site.  I have begun preaching through the book of 1 Corinthians in the last few weeks.  I can’t guarantee they will put you to sleep or anything, but at least you will have something to do.

Categories: adventures in the cold, climate, family, personal, Questions | 18 Comments

Post navigation

18 thoughts on “Daylight Savings Time Insomnia

  1. Oh yeah, it definitely messes with me. It may just be my psych..but in reality, you really are losing an hour of sleep. By now though? I’m fine. Just those first few days stink.

  2. The only good thing about DST is that we can enjoy a little extra activity while the sun’s still out. Otherwise, I already don’t get enough sleep with a one year old. The thought of being told you will definitely lose an hour…well…not a good thing.

    But, I think we came through this time change reasonably well. I was curious how said one year old would fare. Didn’t seem to phase him. 🙂

    Have a blessed week, Jeff!

    Joe.

  3. Is every thing Ok at your church? When I hear some one in 1and 2 Cor. i think there is trouble in the house.

    I did the homeschooling thing in high school but not elem. I was so blessed , there is an elementary school around the corner staffed with great people, even a fellow pastor!
    The best cure for insomnia is reading Catholic doctrine, or The Book of Mormon, that will bring on the Z’s.

  4. Will,
    I have good people in the church, but we all need to hear 1 Corinthians I think. Sometimes we all need some wake ups in our spiritual complacency. I know where you are coming from because those letters are pretty stern, but I prayed about it and considered it and felt God was leading me in that direction. There are some good reminders in there for me too.
    As for your insomnia cures, it would probably work for me, but I am not subjecting my kids to that and they were the ones with the insomnia. Got any good cures for kid insomnia?

  5. Not during the attack itself, but long hikes in the afternoon always gave my wife and i some alone time at night.
    I hear you on Corinthians, I think some of us are too late in bringing a stern word. God bless the new series. i hope to here you tomorrow morning, I will have some Bread with my coffee!

  6. ginabob

    Hmm… AL and I were talking about this very thing tonight. It’s amazing how a one hour change can cause you to loose 4 hours sleep a night. But that is where I am. Tonight – I hit the bottle – well Tylenol PM. :O)

  7. Oh, you should have seen the kids last night. Amelia and I were at our wits end trying to figure out how to get them to go back to sleep.
    Hope you sleep better tonight.

  8. Will,
    When it warms up again, I will try and wear them out more during the day, but winter is hanging on around here.
    On the Corinthians thing, I have a guy in our church who always talks about fire and brimstone preaching. I have never been one to hold back, but the Corinthians passages say some things that have to be said today. 1 Corinthians 4 has a stern rebuke of the prosperity movement that so pollutes Christianity today and chapters 5-7 prove that there is nothing new underneath the sun when it comes to sinfulness and living in community.

  9. Looking forward to hearing your sermons, Jeff!

  10. Steve,
    You might like the one from this past Sunday. I had a small group of Lutherans in attendance, thanks to a birthday celebration for one of our older members. By the way, do Lutherans have a preferred translation of Scripture? I know there are corners of the Baptist world where the KJV is considered THE Word of God and no other is legit at all.
    If you or Will or anyone else who listens, have any constructive criticism, please feel free to give it to me.

  11. Jeff,

    I’ll listen to this past Sunday’s sermon.

    I’m a pretty tough critic, when it comes to sermons..but I’ll go easy in ya!

    Lutherans preference for certain Bibles?

    Not at our church, anyway. We’ve got a bunch of maost all the transaltions.

    I like the RSV, or NRSV. The New English is also popular.

    Hardly any of us use the KJV. It just doen’t sound like how we talk.

    Most Lutherans, though, prefer the Sunday funny papers, or Sports Illustrated.

  12. Steve,
    I know we differ some in theology from discussions at your blog, but I don’t think we are all that far apart.
    Frankly, I am my own biggest critic. I have been thinking about listening to some of the sermons myself, just to hear some things that I tend to do or say without being aware of it. I am one who uses an outline and constantly thinks through the sermon in my head during the week, but I don’t write a whole lot else down and I certainly don’t write the whole sermon out. I pray and ask God to use my mouth to speak to His people from His Word and I trust that He will indeed use me in that way. It is kind of what Paul said, “I did not come with eloquence or superior wisdom as I proclaimed to you the testimony about God” (1 Cor. 2:1). That is my goal anyway.

    Thanks for the answer on the translation question as well.

  13. Jeff,

    Shhhhh… I’m listening right now!

  14. What are you doing up so late?

  15. I got a new book called, Paul the Jewish Theologian, today and I am trying to finish reading it before I start classes again next week. But I will probably head to bed in the next 20 or 30 minutes.

  16. Enjoy the book!

    I’m enjoying your sermon!

  17. Jeff,

    I enjoyed your sermon, Jeff!

    You examined the texts carefully and explained their meanings, and threw in contemporary examples or illustrations. Quite helpful, indeed!

    I thought you did a very nice job of it, and one can eassily see that you are passionate about the message!

    It was very different in style than what I am used to.

    A Lutheran sermon generally is Law/Gospel and it is not an informational message (although that can certainly be one aspect).

    What a good Lutheran sermon aims to do (and believe me there are a lot of bad Lutheran sermons out there) is to accuse the hearer (with the Law, or how it is that we are being had by this world-which is also ‘the law’ at work on us).

    Once the pastor or preacher has used the law to cut us all off (including the preacher) at the knees, and we are sufficiently convicted and condemned and executed…then he uses that gospel Word of the promise of forgiveness to raise the hearer to new life.

    “I know that you have failed to live up to you humanity, and to what God expects of you…so have I…but your sin is forgiven for Jesus’ sake. You are loved. You are made new. Not because of anything you have done, said, felt, ot thought…but because of what Jesus has done on the cross for you, and in your baptism. All for you. Now you are free! ”

    Kill with the law…then hand over the gospel, without any strings, to raise anew.

    The Word (the Law and Gospel) isn’t really explained so much and laid out so that the person can size it up and choose what is right or best…but rather the Word is DONE TO THEM.
    That Word of law works on them to kill them off and then that gospel Word works on them to raise them.

    So, a bit different, but I still learned a lot about many things that I ought to be doing and what I ought not to be doing…and at the end, you handed Christ over and made sure to say that it has nothing to do with what we are doing.

    And, we never do altar calls (I guess Holy Communion is our altar call).

    We figure that the Word will go to work in the life of that person and bring them to a living faith…or not.

    Nice job, Jeff! Looking forward to hearing more sermons from you!

    – Steve M.

  18. Steve,
    Thanks for the comments and thoughts on the sermon. I think that when we expound on Scripture as it talks about our shortcomings, the Holy Spirit does the work of killing the old Adam as you like to say. Working through a book in an expository manner means that some subjects receive different weight at different times, but everywhere we look we see the truth of the gospel and the need for it in our lives.
    As for the altar calls, I have been giving some thought to that subject lately thanks to iMonk’s recent posts. I have always included them and thought of it as a time for people to respond to and reflect on God’s Word, and I agree with you that God’s Word will do its work in a person’s life. I have never been much for “selling” or convincing anyone during that time, which I have seen plenty of times. The invitation is very ingrained into SBC life and it is all I know. Which doesn’t mean I will never change my mind on it, but some changes come slower than others.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

