A Collection of Good Friday Thoughts

I have been reading the blogs of many of my blogging friends today and have been consumed in the remembrance of Christ’s crucifixion on a hill far away.  I don’t often do linking posts, in fact I am never sure that I have done one for just that purpose, but this is a day of firsts for me anyway.

I invite you to go and read my sister’s reflections on her trip to Israel last year during the time shortly before the celebration of the Resurrection.

Some of the other bloggers who are frequent commenters here have reflections on today as well.

Will, over at willohroots,  has a post entitled Good Friday? that reflects on the odd sensibility to call something so horrific good.

Steve, of theoldadam renown,  has some great words about the traditional Good Friday service and what it means as well as why it isn’t observed as much anymore.  Really good stuff for folks like me who have never been much a part of Good Friday before.

Another internet buddy, Joe, over at MayHeIncrease, has been running a series all week leading up to the crucifixion and has a great post with a lot of information today as well.

And if you still have time to kill or just want more stuff to read or listen to, I have posted the sermon audio from tonight’s Good Friday service at our church.  Also, I have contributed a new post over at SBC Voices about the cultural traditions of Easter and Christmas versus the biblical example of each.

Categories: Christianity, church, Culture, devotional, friends, Gospel | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “A Collection of Good Friday Thoughts

  1. Jeff,

    Thanks so much for the “link love.” I am honored by the vote of confidence!

    The series has truly be a labor of love for me.

    Happy Easter to you and your family.

  2. Joe,
    I was happy to link over. I know your site is in my blogroll, but I do a bad job of linking to posts that I appreciate sometimes. I figured I would give it a try. I pray that your celebration of the Resurrection is blessed.

  3. Jeff,

    I listened to your Good Friday sermon, Jeff, and I thought it was great!

    I liked that it wasn’t too long, but long enough for you to give us the set up for why the cross needed to happen (the law) and then what was accomplished on that cross (the gospel).

    You delivered your sermon not so much as information about the cross (that was there of course), but more importantly you let the message of the cross actually BE DONE to the hearer. The gospel was DONE to them, and to me.

    When you said that on the cross, “It was finished”, and that there was nothing left for me TO DO, nothing that I need TO ADD (in essence), I felt a huge weight lifted off my shoulders. I felt the joy and gratefulness of the pure gospel, announced and given to me …with NO STRINGS ATTACHED.

    And then, to top it off, you left it at that!

    You didn’t give it to me with one hand, and then rip it back out of my hands with the other by then throwing on my shoulders another burden of the law.

    There was no, “now go out there and do this or that”. You left me (and your congregation) with the gospel!

    Sweet, indeed!

    My compliments, Jeff! Nice job!

  4. Steve,
    Thank you for the compliments. The sermon Friday night was one that God used to speak to my heart as well. I know that may sound weird to some, but I don’t know how to describe those moments in any case. It wasn’t a sermon that went “according to the notes.”

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

