Faith’s Firm Foundation

I just finished a great book (I know it was good, because I had to read it while still keeping up with my reading for my classes) called The Case for a Creator by Lee Strobel.  This is the first time I have read one of his books, although I have always heard good things about the other ones, and I was very impressed with the depth and breadth of the discussion and case that he developed.  The takeaway from the book was twofold.

First, there is plenty of scientific evidence for God.  This actually surprised me somewhat.  In most of the discussions that I have had with atheists regarding Christianity, I have always sought to use historical proof (particularly of the resurrection of Christ) because it is such a strong line of evidence and reasoning.  I have never considered the scientific line of evidence to be that useful, but I see now that is only because I had no idea how much evidence is out there.  Early in the book, Strobel is discussing the kalam argument with William Craig.  The kalam argument is pretty straightforward and is sound in logical terms.  Here is the argument:

  1. Whatever begins to exist has a cause.
  2. The universe had a beginning.
  3. Therefore, the universe has a cause.

This argument has been around a long time.  For most of its existence, the chief argument against it came at premise two by people who insisted that the universe itself was timeless and eternal.  As modern scientific evidence has managed to demonstrate that the universe did in fact have a “beginning point,” the fight against this argument has now shifted to discredit point number one.  This is ironic in the extreme as the modern “rational thinker” is now pitted against great minds of the past, that they would certainly otherwise admire, who thought questioning point one was quite foolish.  For example, David Hume wrote, “I never asserted so absurd a proposition as that anything might arise without a cause.”  Nevertheless, some of the “rational thinkers” of today try and argue just such an absurdity to get around this argument.

Of course there are those who say that this argument means that God must have had a “cause” as well, but the attributes of God don’t place Him in that category.  The Bible asserts that God is eternal and did not have a beginning or and end, which places Him outside of the parameters of this argument and leaves Him instead as a good candidate for the “cause” of the beginning of our universe.  Honestly, I am just scratching the surface of one section of the book, but hopefully you can get a sense of the depth of the conversation this book represents.

The other takeaway from this book for me is the awe of creation and its Creator.  Reading about some of the scientific discoveries of the last 10 or 15 years and seeing how they point to God as He has revealed Himself in Scripture is truly awe inspiring.  In my discussions with atheists in particular, I am always amazed at the lengths to which they will go to try and avoid even contemplating that God might exist.  It is even more amazing as you see the amount of “faith” they have to have to believe some of the explanations that modern science has put forth for the evidence they have found.  I highly recommend this book to anyone who is interested in pursuing the truth and is willing to follow the evidence wherever it will lead them.  If you aren’t willing to do that, why bother studying at all?

Categories: Agnostics, Apologetics, Atheists, Book Reviews, Christianity, Truth | 15 Comments

Post navigation

15 thoughts on “Faith’s Firm Foundation

  1. Good review, I have not read this one but I will have to plan on it.

    Read Case for Christ, that is a great book. Lots of good information.

    Want to know how good Lee’s books are? Atheists have nothing to contradict it so all they do it try and attack Lee’s person. If an atheist attacks someone character you can bet they have something good to say.

  2. mcoville,
    I will have to pick up Case for Christ sometime. There is an appendix at the back of this book with the summary case/evidence from that book and it was really good.
    You make a great observation about the personal attacks. I have seen that a lot. In a sense, it is more than a little ironic as well, because you have to wonder on what basis they can make the personal attacks without an appeal to an objective standard.

  3. Awww…you wack Christians will be in anything!!!

  4. That’s ‘wacky’ by the way.

    I ought to know…I are one! 😀

  5. I’ve seen Strobel’s books on the shelves for years but I haven’t had a chance to pick any of them up yet.

    However, I’m dying to start reading them. Once we get back on our feet, I’m heading down to the bookstore to pick this one up.

    Thanks Jeff!

  6. Joe,
    I picked this one up in the bargain shelves at the Family Christian Bookstore in Fargo last week and got a really good deal on it. You might check there if you have one nearby and see if they have any on sale.

  7. Steve,
    There is a fine difference between wack and wacky. But I have to ask, is “be” in that first comment supposed to be “believe”?

  8. Yes…I’m more wack than I thought.

  9. Apparently I am fluent in wack since I understood you just fine.

  10. “Apparently I am fluent in wack since I understood you just fine.”

    Grate! I theenk ewe mhust be!

  11. Steve,
    Now you are just scaring me a bit. 🙂

  12. Sari, Jeff 😀

  13. Leave a blog for a few weeks and they change the native language. Oh well.
    I read all Strobel’s books. i too just finished Case for a Creator. I find his style a bit annoying but his content impeccable. Try Ravi Zacharias The End of Reason, you will love it.
    “Cause God sez so ” is neither a biblical nor effective evangelical message. Sur iz tru. Oh No!

  14. Will,
    I have missed you much in your absence. I agree with you about the style, but the content is well worth it. I haven’t read that particular book by Ravi, but I have read one or two others that he wrote and enjoyed them very much.

  15. Will,
    I read an anecdote in another book this week from Ravi Zacharias that just makes me want to get some of his books even more. He certainly has a way of cutting through the clutter to get to the heart of an issue.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

