Daily Archives: November 17, 2009

Sunday Morning 11/15/09

I have been working on some things with our sound system to help some folks in our congregation hear the worship service better and it caused me to make a mistake in the recording phase of the Sunday morning service.  I didn’t get any of the message recorded at all for some reason and will work to correct it for next week.  In the meantime, I did get the previous two week’s sermons finally posted, so you are welcome to listen to those.

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Sunday Morning 11/8/09

We had a great service again and the Lord is so wonderful.  This was another week where I was able to experience the sermon in repeat as we were blessed by the generosity of others during our trip to the Black Hills.  Many thanks to Foothills Community Baptist Church who allowed us to stay in their empty parsonage during the Dakota Baptist Convention meeting this past week.  This sermon touches on the issues around the destruction of Sodom and Gomorrah and is not what you might expect.  Click on the play button below to listen and as always please leave a comment or message if you have any problems with the audio or the site.  May God richly bless you through His Word.

A Lot to Learn

Sermon notes 11/8/09

Genesis 18-19

 

  1. Abraham pleads with God for Sodom and Gomorrah
    1. Genesis 18:22-33
    2. What was the evil that Sodom and Gomorrah were guilty of?
      1. Ezekiel 16:43-50
      2. Revelation 3:14-20
      3. Lot means “veiled” or could be thought of as blind (Genesis 19:11)
    3. The problem of Sodom and Gomorrah exists today, but not like you think
      1. James 2:14-17 – taking care of others
      2. Matthew 10:11-15
  2. Lot the joker
    1. Genesis 19:12-14
    2. Lot didn’t want to leave either – Genesis 19:15-22
  3. A Lot to learn
    1. Matthew 11:20-24 – Learn from the example
    2. The day is near – Luke 17:26-37
    3. James 2:17-26 (the corpse of Luke 17:37)

 

Categories: Genesis, Podcasts, Sermon, Torah Readings | 1 Comment

Sunday Morning 11/1/09

Here is the sermon audio for the Sunday morning.  This sermon talks about the power of multiplying by making disciples.  It is amazing to me that the message of this sermon was repeated back to me in many ways at a conference that I attended during this following week.  I think that God has some amazing things prepared for His church here in Langdon and I am excited to see it.  Click play below to listen to the sermon and follow along with the notes as well if you wish.  May the Lord bless you through His Word.

Understanding the Covenant

Sermon notes 11/1/09

Genesis 15

 

  1. The covenant promises of God – Genesis 15:1-6
    1. Genesis 12:2-3, 7
    2. These are the promises Abram is asking about
    3. Abraham believed God – v. 6
      1. It wasn’t that he believed God existed – Hebrews 11:6
      2. He believed God would do what He promised – Romans 4 and Galatians 3
  2. The covenant confirmation of God – Genesis 15:7-20
      1. God answers Abram’s concerns in a way Abram can understand
      2. What is the meaning of the smoking fire pot and flaming torch?
        1. Isaiah 62:1 – Yeshua (Salvation) is the torch
        2. 2 Corinthians 1:18-22 / Galatians 3:16
  3. The covenant command to Abraham’s “offspring”
    1. Genesis 12:1-3 – Make him a nation
    2. Matthew 28:19-20 – Go and make disciples of all the nations
      1. Leading a person to the Lord every day for 70 years – 25,550
      2. A 40 year old convert discipling/multiplying one believer a year for 30 years – 1,073,000 people
      3. Go forth and multiply
Categories: Disciples, Podcasts, Sermon, Torah Readings | Leave a comment

Road Warrior

I have gotten a little behind on some of my projects again.  The last couple of weeks have seen me on the road more than normal.  Two weeks ago at this time I was at an exceptional church planting and missions conference in Missoula, MT.  The speaker was a man named Jim Putman who wrote a book about a year or so ago called Church is a Team Sport. I felt a great connection to this pastor and heard a great amount of harmony with my thinking (at one point he basically preached a great part of the sermon I had just preached the day before going).  I have already read the book since returning and I am excited to see how God will use these things in the life of our church here.  I highly recommend the book and I plan to devote a couple of posts in the near future to these topics so I won’t go on about it now.

Last week, we traveled to Rapid City, SD, for the Dakota Baptist Convention.  I have been looking forward to this for quite a while, since it gave us a chance to catch up with lots of good friends from around the Dakotas and especially those in the Black Hills where we had served for 4 years before moving here.  Overall, the convention went very well and I count it a blessing and a priviledge that God has led us to serve here with the wonderful folks in the DBC.

We will be able to spend a few weeks here close to home as I complete my final two classes to finish my Master of Arts in Religion before we finish the year by traveling to Arkansas to visit with family and friends there over the holidays.  All in all, things are going very well.  I am going to catch up on posting sermon audio over at the church’s blog tonight or tomorrow and get some more schoolwork tucked away as well.  Plus I look forward to catching up on my friend’s blogs as well.

Categories: Christianity, church, Discipleship, friends, Fun, personal, School, Southern Baptist, Thanksgiving | Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.