Sunday Morning 12/6/09

This morning’s sermon focused on Hanukkah and dedicating ourself to the Lord.  It was a little more empassioned than some of my sermons perhaps, but this is a subject the Lord has been dealing with me about for some time now.  At the end of the notes are two links: one is for the extra sheet of verses from the end of the Sermon regarding Jesus’ view of the Law or Torah and the other is more information about Hanukkah.  Both links are courtesy of El Shaddai Ministries in Bonney Lake, WA.  I wanted to express appreciation to their pastor, who has been a great source of encouragement to me and is someone I respect very much in ministry, even though we have never met face to face, we have communicated through the wonderful world of the internet and he has always been gracious and encouraging.  My prayer is that you are challenged and uplifted by this look into Hanukkah.  May the Lord bless you through His Word.

Added note: During the course of the week, it has come to my attention that parts of this sermon were not taken as I would have intended them to be.  It is not my desire to needlessly offend and I said some things in ways that were not helpful.  I appreciate those in my church who are willing to come to me with a word of correction or admonition when it is needed.  I wanted to let those who might listen here that are not a part of our fellowship in person that I can understand the reasons for concern and did not set out to offend anyone deliberately.  At the same time, I understand that some of the things I said while true could have been seasoned with more grace and understanding.  I am not perfect (which anyone who knows me knows) and I will certainly learn from this experience as well.  Thanks again to my loving brothers and sisters here in our church for loving on a rookie pastor who is still got some learning to do.  I am blessed to have you all.

Hanukkah

Sermon notes 12-6-09

  1. The Dedications of the Past
    1. Numbers 7:88 – Dedication = Chanukkah – Strong’s H2598
    2. 2 Chronicles 7:1-9 – Dedication = Chanukkah
    3. 2 Chronicles 28-29 describes the Temple being defiled by a wicked Israelite king and then being cleansed by Hezekiah – 29:15-17
    4. Another Dedication is described by Ezra 6
  2. Jesus and Hanukkah – John 10:22-30
    1. Understanding the Messianic implications of Hanukkah
      1. Ezekiel ch. 10-11 describe the Glory of God leaving the Temple
      2. Ezekiel 45:1-5 predicts it will return from the eastern gate
    2. Some Jews expected Messiah’s return at Hanukkah to restore the Temple
  3. The Festival of Lights
    1. John 1:1-5 – Genesis 1:1-4 – Jesus is the Light – John 8:12
    2. Proverbs 6:23; Psalm 119:105; Proverbs 29:18 – The Law is a Light (Jesus the Word)
    3. We have light when we keep the Law – 2 Corinthians 4:6; 6:14-18
    4. There is no light when we don’t keep the Law – Isaiah 8:20
    5. Hanukkah for us is about Dedicating our “temple” to the Lord – 2 Corinthians 6:16
      1. We are to keep God’s commandments – Revelation 12:17
      2. How Jesus views the Torah (Law or Teachings)

Observing Hanukkah as a disciple of Jesus

Categories: Feasts, Podcasts, Sermon | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Sunday Morning 12/6/09

  1. Pingback: Hanukkah « Jeofurry’s Jesus Journey

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

