Walking in the Light

When Jesus spoke again to the people, he said, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.”

– John 8:12

Hanukkah (or Chanukkah if you prefer) is officially underway and we have made our first baby steps in observing this season tonight as well.  It has been a roller coaster week in some ways.  I let my mouth move too fast for my brain during my sermon on Sunday and really upset some folks.  It is a good thing is some ways however as it has allowed people within the church to come to me with their concerns and see that I responded in a spirit of reconciliation and love in return.  I made some mistakes in tone and said some things I didn’t mean to say(and left some wrong impressions with other things I did say); which is going to happen at some point to any preacher who stands in the pulpit.  The great thing for me is to see how this week has played out as I have been able to talk to several of the people already and ask for and receive their forgiveness where it was needed.  I have long known that we are blessed to be a part of this body of believers and this week just added confirmation to that.  Hopefully they all still feel blessed to have me as their pastor as well.  🙂

It has made me think that there may be those out there who read the blog as well that feel I have been too harsh or have shown too little grace in these matters.  I assure you that was not my desire, but I have a marked tendency in my character to do that from time to time.  There haven’t been any comments to this effect, but I might have just made some regulars mad all the same.  Believe me, if I can strike a wrong tone on this in person-face to face, it would be far easier for me to have done it here online where tone never comes into play.  So if that fits you, my dear reader, please accept my humble apologies if I have spoken offense to you in these matters.

This marks the beginning of the festival of Lights and/or the Feast of Dedication otherwise known as Hanukkah to many.  The words of our Savior ring loud and true tonight and every night.  In this season, it is good to remember that if we walk alongside our Savior we will be “in the light as He is in the light” (1 John 1:7) and that is a good thing.  May His light shine on you.

Categories: Bible Thoughts, Christianity, church, Discipleship, family, Feasts, Gospel, Grace, Love, Truth | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Walking in the Light

  1. well, I hope you posted that sermon, i want to hear it. you know the guy that does’t make a mistyake is doing little or nothing.
    I just had a heated conversation with a gnostic attny. at our Christmas party. whew!

  2. Will,
    The sermon is posted. It is the one on Sunday 12/6. The reaction to the sermon depended greatly on the hearer this time. I left a few folks upset and a few others bewildered. Both conditions were unintended. Thanks for the encouragement brother. I am anxious to hear how your trip to Scranton turned out as well. Post an update to facebook or your blog when you can.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

