Shrouded in Mystery

Update:  There is another interesting article that was put out this week regarding the back of the Shroud.

I will admit that the Shroud of Turin is one of those things that just fascinates me.  I have no problem believing that it might be the genuine article, but my faith does not hinge on its validity one way or the other.  This latest stir about it is interesting to read about though.

I found this to be worth further reading:

Rogers’ paper made an impact on the Shroud of Turin research community worldwide, because immediately after the results of the 1988 radiocarbon dating were made public, he was a leading voice asserting the shroud was a medieval forgery.

. . .

Rogers concluded in his 2005 paper that the linen in the main body of the shroud had lost vanillin, much like the Dead Sea scroll linens, suggesting the shroud itself is much older than the radiocarbon dating had suggested, very possibly reaching back 2,000 years to the time of Jesus Christ.

So, what do you think about the Shroud of Turin?

Bookmark and Share

Categories: Christianity, Faith, Science, Yeshua | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “Shrouded in Mystery

  1. I used to work (volunteer) at The Shroud Center of Southern California.

    It was a little museum with a backlit life-size replica of the shroud and many exhibits and videos, etc.

    We had close ties to most of the scientists based in the states who had researched or who were still researching the shroud.

    I tried to use my time there (at the center) to speak the gospel to those who would come to see the shroud exhibit.

    I finally ran out of time and patience.

    Is it real? Could be. Or maybe a clever trick of the devil. Who knows?

    I used to tell visitors that in the end that question does not matter so much as that He is real…and that He died a real death to forgive their sins.

  2. JEFF: I was a huge Shroud fanatic for years even before I was born again. Back then I looked at it from a historical point of view and an oddity.

    Then I started thinking along the lines of: “Would God allow the Shroud to exist?” It seemed like it would have gone against HIs commandment about graven images.

    Lately–as you know–I’ve been catching the recent shows on the Shroud and my interest has been piqued again. My faith is in man whom the Shroud purports to show, not the Shroud itself. However, considering that no one can say for sure how it was made, there is actual blood on it, it’s not a painting, etc., I’m of the opinion now that it was created during the Resurrection as it passed through Jesus’ glorified body. One of the recent shows said it was a 2-dimensional image of a 3-dimensional (or more?) object, so to speak.

    STEVE: I wonder if I came in to the Shroud Center in Huntington Beach while you were working there. I went in a few years back. It was really interesting. Is it still there?

  3. Hi Joe,

    I might have been there when you visited. We rotated days on the weekends (when we were open).

    They moved to Fountain Valley in an office building near Magnolia and Warner.

    I haven’t been there for over a year.

  4. Then I started thinking along the lines of: “Would God allow the Shroud to exist?” It seemed like it would have gone against His commandment about graven images.

    Joe,
    That is an interesting question. The commandment against such things is very specific toward us as humans. If the Shroud of Turin is genuine, then it would be God who made the image Himself. That might constitute a different issue. God also commanded the construction of the Ark of the Covenant; which some ended up treating as a kind of graven image at times as well.

  5. Steve,
    I couldn’t agree more with you brother. The reality of the person of Jesus and His death and resurrection is far more important that that of the authenticity of the shroud.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

