Friday Funnies

I am thinking of starting a new recurring bit here on the old blog. I like to hold on to stories that interest me to blog about when I have some free time, but I think we all need a little humor in our lives in these wild and wacky days we live in. To that end, I am going to start throwing out some stories and such that I have found during the previous week or so that amuse me. Be warned, my sense of humor can be a little warped at time and as you should already know, one person’s idea of humor can be very different from another person’s idea of humor. With those caveats, prepare to laugh.

First up is an article about unfortunate web addresses. Funny things happen in a world where punctuation isn’t allowed because of programming vagaries and web addresses are ripe for this kind of issue. My personal favorite from the article is the website for American Scrap Metal (www.angelfire.com/alt/americanscrapmetal). It is doubly funny because they didn’t get stuck with it like they would have with http://www.americanscrapmetal.com or some such.

My next offering comes from the world of politics, where people got all bent out of shape over a lady who mentioned Jesus and Christianity in an invocation at a recent meeting about the textbooks in Texas. The funny part comes from the fact that the words she used were a direct quote of former Supreme Court Justice Earl Warren (he of the removal of prayer from schools fame). You can watch the video at the other site, but the text that she used reads thusly:

“I believe no one can read the history of our country without realizing that the Good Book and the spirit of the Savior have from the beginning been our guiding geniuses. Whether we look to the first Charter of Virginia or the Charter of New England or the Charter of Massachusetts Bay or the Fundamental Orders of Connecticut, the same objective is present – a Christian land governed by Christian principles. I believe the entire Bill of Rights came into being because of the knowledge our forefathers had of the Bible and their belief in it: freedom of belief, of expression, of assembly, of petition, the dignity of the individual, the sanctity of the home, equal justice under law, and the reservation of powers to the people…I like to believe we are living today in the spirit of the Christian religion. I like also to believe that as long as we do so, no great harm can come to our country.”

She was roundly condemned by knee-jerk reactions from the anti-religious folks who had no memory of history and no idea that we have fallen so far. It is darkly funny to me (I warned you about my sense of humor already).

My last funny offering for the day comes from the world of science and could be called, “Yes, Virginia, There is No Global Warming”. This guy is actually contending that another “little ice age” could be just around the corner. If you remember, back in the 70’s or so, that was all the rage in the media before global warming became the rallying cry of the day here more recently. It got some bad with the data that they stopped calling it warming and started referring to it as “global climate change.” I think it just looks comical and it makes me smile as they show their foolishness for all to see. Bonus story in this category: the islands aren’t sinking as the sea levels rise like scientist said they would.

Happy Friday everyone and keep laughing.

Bookmark and Share

Categories: Christianity, Culture, Fun, Humor, politics, Science, Signs of the Times | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

