The Incredible Shrinking Man

I borrowed the title from a friend who coined this phrase when he would ask me about how my weight loss was going.  Since April of this year, I have been in weight loss mode, mostly because of the “encouragement” of a doctor I was referred to on account of some wonky liver function numbers and such.  The results have been pretty good so far, but I am not done yet.  I haven’t had my return trip to the doctor yet for a followup to see how the numbers are now; so I don’t know if I have succeeded at all of the goals I need to meet, and I haven’t lost as much weight as I plan to lose overall.  I haven’t said much about the ongoing saga on either the blog or anywhere else online, but I felt like sharing this now.

I haven’t been blogging for just over a month now, but that has been a function of a very busy month of October that saw me out of town for at least a day on three of the four weeks, including a trip to Idaho (which was incredible) and a training conference in Fargo last week for a part of the disaster relief chaplain work that I am learning about and hoping to be able to be a part of going forward.  I am hoping to get back to blogging more frequently now that things have settled down a bit again.  We have some exciting things on the horizon in the life of our church and I plan to share some of that along the way here.

But back to the original point I started with; my weight loss has been slow but steady for the most part.  I have found immense encouragement during this time from my wife, who also made radical changes in her diet (in order to head off a potential diabetic condition) that was very successful (she is back to normal blood sugar again).  She hasn’t nagged me or hounded me about my own diet; she has just been a steady example of faithfulness to her own diet (which I have done my best not to derail for her sake).  She has also been a source of encouragement to me when I felt like I didn’t want to bother with some of these new habits in my own diet.

Many have asked me what I did to lose the weight (36 pounds so far), but I hate to give advice on this, because my own path hasn’t been some shining model.  The biggest part of it has been cutting back on portions.  Sounds simple or perhaps simplistic, but I finally made a commitment to just not eat as much as I was always used to eating.  I also started eating healthier foods (including some greens, but not too many), and particularly cut a lot of fat out of my diet.  This has meant a few changes for sure and it doesn’t mean that I never eat anything with some fat in it.  I just don’t eat that stuff every day like I used to do.

The only reason I am really writing this now, is to provide a measure of encouragement to those out there who are in the same battle.  I know there are a lot of you in this boat.  It is encouraging to know that people we kn0w have done it and lived.  It is encouraging when you can fit into jeans that  have just come out of the wash without pain for the first day or two while they stretch back out.  It is encouraging when someone you haven’t seen in a few weeks or months comments that you look like you have lost a little weight.  It kind of makes that day when I almost broke down in the aisles of Wal-Mart while searching for healthy food worth it after all.

But it isn’t over; it never really is on this side of eternity.  Life is a daily thing.  You can’t live today on the strength or accomplishment of yesterday.  Today is the day that the Lord has made.  Today is the day that we are given for whatever we will do with it.  Tomorrow isn’t going to get here in time to help today and yesterday is unable to come back and help us either.  All we have is Today and it is good.

Categories: family, friends, Fun, Health, Humor, personal, Thanksgiving | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “The Incredible Shrinking Man

  1. WILL HAPEMAN

    you are an insperation to me. I am about to head down the same road. If I thought I was going to live this long I would have taken better care of myself! Love you in the Lord and happy to hear of your progress.

  2. Will,
    Thanks brother. It is good to hear from you. I keep thinking about calling you, but it seems like life gets in the way all the time. The weight is still coming down day by day, a little at a time. Might go faster if I actually exercised or something. Blessings to you brother. Love you in the Lord and praying for you and your church family.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

