One Word 2011

For several years, my sister has launched each new year with a single word.  It is a word that defines the year to come I suppose.  I am so used to this now that I even asked her a few weeks ago what her word for this year was.  At the time she didn’t have it, but that has “changed” in the meantime.  I encourage you to read her blog if you have never checked it out before.  Over the last couple of weeks though, I have been praying and studying and God has challenged me quite a bit.  I went back and reread my sister’s post linked above and then decided to go and read the other blog that she had linked in that post.  It was another blogger who does this “one word” thing and this year it has caught on in a thematic way with many people.  I am not one that normally jumps on with trends or things like that, but something in this spoke to me.  After some more prayer and thought, I have decided to throw my own word in the arena.  The word that God placed on my heart: GROWTH.

It carries some serious irony as I am actively trying to “get smaller” by losing weight, but this growth is obviously intended spiritually.  And a funny analogy comes to mind, because in the way of the Kingdom we can only grow as we shrink, if you get my drift.  So, I look forward to the ways in which God will chose to bring growth in my life and I also realize that growth can bring pain and adjustment and challenges of its own.  Here’s to growth.

Categories: Growth, One Word, personal | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “One Word 2011

  1. i love the intentionality and purposefulness of your word. growth is so vibrant and full of life… i hope you are finding that to be true in your heart this year.

  2. Alece,
    Thank you for your encouraging words. The year is young, but I have certainly seen God at work already in growing me.
    If you happen to come back through this way, I just wanted to let you know how much I appreciate your transparency in sharing your own story. It is amazing how God can use the experiences of others to work in each of our hearts. May God bless you and keep you.
    Shalom,
    Jeff

  3. wow, jeff… thank you.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

