If You’re Irrational and Don’t Know It, Here’s Your Sign

You can’t make this kind of stuff up.  I have mentioned the irrationality of atheism before, but this is a perfect demonstration of it.  The truth is that most western Atheists have a problem with Christianity and the God of Creation more than a problem with the idea of any god.  Case in point, this story from PubliusForum that speaks of atheists who support Islam.

There is nothing more that really needs to be said, but I thought I would get this out there in advance of their national holiday that is coming up.

(The photo above originally comes from NoMosquesAtGroundZero)

Categories: Atheists, church, Culture, Fun, Humor, Truth | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 7 Comments

Post navigation

7 thoughts on “If You’re Irrational and Don’t Know It, Here’s Your Sign

  1. The sign is a protest against Christians who demand their own religious freedom (justifiably) but wish to deny it for others (not justifiably).

    That said, I don’t think I’d devote my sign-carrying energy to supporting any religion.

    Peace.

  2. So are you trying to claim this is rational? Ever heard of Sharia? Name a Muslim state that allows religious freedom. Last time I checked it was a nation founded on predominantly Christian principles that did that.

  3. I’m not trying to claim anything. I’m pointing out what the sign means.

    I can’t name a Muslim state that allows religious freedom, which is why I thinks it’s a waste of time for an atheist to defend any religion. You seem to think all atheists share a collective brain. I’ll go ahead and agree with you that some atheists seem to have a particular hostility toward Christianity.

    For the record, the United States was not founded on Christian anything. It was founded on the principles of Roman republicanism, with a heavy dose of John Locke’s enlightenment philosophy thrown in. Thomas Jefferson (not a Christian) was a follower of Locke. Locke wrote the Second Treatise on the Role of Government, where he outlines the relationship between citizens and government and espouses on many of the concepts that ended up in the Bill of Rights. You can read about it in history books.

    Also, the mall in Washington DC is modeled after an ancient Roman architecture plan and the architecture itself is meant to evoke that period. It’s not a church.

    The words Christ and Christian do not appear anywhere in the Constitution. The bible says nothing about three branches of government, elections, a representative government, a jury of peers, or anything that we value. The Ten Commandments are not only not relevant, some of them are in conflict with the first amendment. It’s not illegal to worship false idols, take the lord’s name in vain, or covet your neighbor’s wife, and it never was.

    To head off the obvious rebuttal, it’s a crime to steal and kill everywhere, and it was the case in mesopotamia and ancient Egypt, before the old testament was written.

    Thank you for giving me an opportunity to express my views on your blog. I’m not some troll who goes around bashing people who don’t agree with me. The tone of your post above, you have to admit, is slightly combative, so I just wanted to offer another possibility.

    Peace.

  4. Apparently you don’t know where the idea for protection of religious freedom came from in the first place. The genesis of the idea came from Baptist preachers in the colonies and the Federal protection was modeled after the ones instituted in Rhode Island. The phrase “separation of church and state” that is credited to Jefferson by so many, actually came from a baptist minister and was used by Jefferson in his letter to a baptist church to assure them that the state wouldn’t meddle in their affairs.

    I won’t deny that the post above has some facetiousness in it, but when you deal with as many obnoxious atheists as I have in the past, you would understand why. I don’t think atheists are monolithic any more than I think Christians are monolithic. Blog posts tend to be generalized in nature unless I am posting about a specific person.

    I will continue to say that atheism is by nature irrational because it is logically untenable. In order to be sure that there is no god whatsoever, you would need to posses exhaustive knowledge of everything in the universe. It is far wiser to claim agnosticism and simply declare that you do not know if there is a god than to be foolhardy and declare with certainty that which you cannot know for sure.

    Just as a point of rebuttal to your argument above. It is a known fact that with only a couple of exceptions, the Founders of the US were by and large Christian men. The Enlightenment ideals that they drew from were influenced heavily by Christian theology. Their beliefs were a large part of their work and even those who did not profess Christianity, still affirmed that the experiment they launched via our government was largely dependent on adhering to Christian values. The government we have is based on liberties for individuals who are able to “govern” themselves to a large degree, not liberties that are “given” or defined by government. This requires a moral component that our Founders were not shy about discussing. We will see how long the country survives when that foundation is destroyed. My money is on not long.

    I appreciate your dialogue and honest opinions. I am willing to let anyone express their views here as long as they can do it with some decorum (sarcasm is certainly allowed but vulgarity is not). Stop by anytime.

  5. I’m definitely not into trashing people’s houses, so I would never post smack on a Christian-themed blog. You should be able to discuss topics important to you without people giving you a hard time. I don’t go on stamp collectors’ blogs to tell them I don’t collect stamps, so it certainly isn’t courteous to do the equivalent here.

    Thanks for listening. I may come back at some point and try to convince you that I’m not such an irrational person. I’m even kind of charming once you get to know me.

    😉

  6. I will certainly give you credit for a higher level of civility than I normally see from atheists in the blogosphere. And I love the analogy about stamp collectors as well.

    You are welcome to make your case for rational atheism anytime, just remember you have to deal with that first big objection about the knowledge necessary to make such a claim credible and logical.

    Shalom

  7. Pingback: Elementary, My Dear Watson « Jeofurry's Jesus Journey

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

