I’m Ashamed to Be an American – A Parody

Update: I have now recorded a rough cut of the song for youtube.  Watch it at the bottom of the post.

So, I got a little annoyed reading the news tonight and a flash of inspiration hit me.  I decided to parody a song.  Not just any song, but that classic American standard by Lee Greenwood.  I am tempted to video it and throw it on YouTube, but I am holding back at the moment.  What do you think of it?  Should I record it and throw it further into cyberspace or should I trash it?  So, with apologies to Lee, here we go.

Chorus:

I’m ashamed to be an American, ’cause at one time we were free.

But we watched them take it all away as we stared at the TV

So, I guess I’ll throw up and so will you, when you see the news today

‘Cause we sure did get off track somewhere, I miss the USA

Verse 1:

If tomorrow all that we have lost,
Of the freedoms in our life.
Could be ours once again,
Would we find it worth the strife?

Or will we thank our lucky stars,
to be getting Federal pay?
‘Cause that’s costing us our freedom,
and they like it fine that way.

Chorus:

I’m ashamed to be an American, ’cause at one time we were free.

But we watched them take it all away as we stared at the TV

So, I guess I’ll throw up and so will you, when you see the news today

‘Cause we sure did get off track somewhere, I miss the USA

Verse 2:

Stolen elections in Minnesota,
A giant mess in New Orleans.
A few holdouts still in Texas,
But mostly bankrupt from sea to sea.

Detroit turned to a ghost town,
And DC owns Chevrolet
But if we want something left for our kids,
then its time we stand and say.

Chorus 2:

That we’re going to be real Americans, in the Constitution way

And we won’t forget what life was like, when DC was at bay

So, we’ll gladly get up and get involved, and make it start today

If it’s not too late let’s do our part, and save the USA.

Categories: Culture, Freedom, Fun, Humor, Music, personal, politics, Signs of the Times | Tags: , , , , , , | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “I’m Ashamed to Be an American – A Parody

  1. love it!

  2. Is that a vote for recording it? By the way, I haven’t forgotten the video you need either.

  3. In a word: “genius.”

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

