Intelligent Writing

I have been one of the “smart kids” all of my life.  It isn’t something I talk about much.  Those who know me well just know this and I imagine those who read here frequently probably suspected it at times.  I don’t spend much time thinking about it, but recent news gave me a chance to test my communication skills and accessibility for readers for my blog.

Give some credit to Sarah Palin and her emails.  I have now discovered that there is an online tool that assesses the reading level of a given text.  Hat tip goes to Vox Day for linking up the text readablility engine.  I put a few of my blog posts through it and discovered that I tend to write at about a 10-12 grade level.  Some of the posts were as low as 8 and some were up closer to 14.  The score indicates “the number of years of formal education that a person requires in order to easily understand the text on the first reading.”  This might explain why I don’t reach a particularly large audience.  It also explains why I frequently have issues in online discussions I suppose.  I have been accused of talking over people’s heads before.  I guess my writing style is reflective of this as well.

Let the reader be warned that my writing might require more than one pass to digest.  I will probably run some of my posts through this thing in the future.  It will depend on what I am intending the post to be as far as readability.  For this post I was able to adjust it to a 6.84 after an initial score of 9.68 on the Flesch Kincaid Grade level scale by taking some of their recommendations.  I doubt I will do this for many of my posts, but it is something I will notice in the future.

Categories: Fun, Growth, Humor, personal, Science | 4 Comments

Post navigation

4 thoughts on “Intelligent Writing

  1. As a writer, I believe the general public should have a clear understanding of what you are trying to communicate. Your writing seems to be very clear and concise. Keep up the good work!

  2. Zenfold,
    Thanks for the compliment. I do strive to make myself understood as best as I can from my end.

  3. me like.

  4. Thanks Anth,
    In more encouraging news I ran my devotional post for this morning through and I had it below a 5, so I can write for a wider audience when I try.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

