Funny Friday Post – Laughter Is Good Medicine

We all have to laugh at ourselves.  I am grateful for a year where I don’t feel the need to place a bag over my head following a rather quite SBC annual meeting down in Phoenix.  However, in the post-convention glow, there was a side discussion that developed in one of the threads at SBC Voices that started talking the alcohol thing again.  I pretty much avoided it until I saw someone throw in a Luther quote that I haven’t tried to source, but which sounds like it could be legit (Steve, maybe you can help me with this one):

Whoever drinks beer he is quick to sleep; whoever sleeps long does not sin; whoever does not sin enters Heaven! Let us drink beer!” – Luther

I felt so inspired by the comment that I had to post up a video of a song I recently overheard on the Mark Gungor show.

I jokingly referred to it as a possible Lutheran hymn in the comment as well.  Based on the drinking that goes on in this neck of the woods, it might actually be one for all I know.  I just like the band in the video clip.  That is my kinda deal right there.

Another comment thread in the aftermath of SBC2011 was about the issue of homosexuality.  You might wander what is so funny about it, but a commenter accidentally referred to homophones when he meant to say homophobe (interesting that my spellchecker knows which of those two word is legitimate anyway).  That inspired another trip down memory lane for this classic video that explains what homophones are all about.

In other bizarre news, San Francisco is now considering a ban on goldfish.  I would like to think that this is just a crazy prank for April Fool’s Day that someone has mistimed, but the news story makes it abundantly clear that these guys are not playing with a full deck in SF.

The recommendation to the San Francisco Board of Supervisors is part of the commission’s ongoing efforts to discourage “impulse buys” of animals.

The commission’s ban would cover pet stores and breeders in the City. It comes after more than a year of study and findings that aquarium fish are often mass bred under inhumane conditions or stripped from the wild.

The story earlier notes that they have already banned kittens, puppies and hamsters.  Clearly SF is not a pet-friendly place.  I bet there is a huge black market.  Next, they may go after sea-monkeys.

Finally, in liberal madness world, the culture of “Don’t Blame It On Me” is in full swing with the latest Congressional scandal.  To think that Wes King’s song is almost prophetic at this point (you can listen to Blame It on Me on Rhapsody for free).  Sometimes I really do wonder how these people  like Garafalo can say this kind of stuff with a straight face, because I sure can’t listen to it with a straight face.

Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Funny Friday Post – Laughter Is Good Medicine

  1. That was a pretty good band!

    Maybe Luther did say that, but I’m not sure. He loved Katie’s homemade beer, so it’s a good fit.

  2. Yeah, I really like the band. I found several versions of the song on YouTube but that was my favorite one. And I thought the quote at least sounded like it could be legit. If I ever find out for sure, I will let you know.

    I didn’t really pay attention to it at the time, but I kind of had a polka theme for the post.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

