Sunday Morning Sermon for 11/20/11

There will be a two week gap on sermons as my family and I are taking some vacation time to visit family of course.  Today’s sermon is about giving thanks.  I apologize for the audio quality.  The wireless mic that I typically use has been very temperamental of late.  I put a new battery in only to have it not work at all.  Then I went to replace that battery thinking it must have been bad, only to have it work fine when I tested it.  This week it failed again at the last minute.  I will try and work it out when I get back.  In the meantime, I pray that you are not to troubled trying to hear this sermon if you attempt to listen.  If you do listen to the end, you will be rewarded with a rare candid take of the post-invitation stuff that I usually edit out.

The notes are also available below.  May God richly bless you and may you be thankful in all things in this season of thanksgiving.

Give Thanks

1 Thessalonians 5:18

Sermon notes 11/20/11

  1. Part of broader instructions – 1 Thessalonians 5:12-25

    1. Rejoice always

    2. Pray without ceasing

    3. Give thanks in all circumstances

  2. Give Thanks

    1. Commanded – Deuteronomy 8

    2. Demonstrated – Psalm 105

    3. Modeled – Jesus

  3. In all things?

    1. Not an isolated statement – Ephesians 5:20

    2. Yes, all things – Romans 8:35-39; 2 Corinthians 11:16-33

Categories: Podcasts, Sermon, Thankfulness | Tags: | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

