A Few Random Thoughts

I haven’t had a lot of time for blogging the last couple of days.  I just started two more classes at Liberty for my MA, so the work begins again.  This time I have Intro to Apologetics and Systematic Theology II (by the way Will, if you still want to see a syllabus I will email you one).  The apologetics class has six books to read in the next eight weeks and the theology class has three.  But two of those books are huge and I only read selections from those.  I usually have enough time to squeeze everything in, but the weekends can get hectic when you have deadlines for assignments to meet.

So, I decided to make use of the free time I still have and asked to be a contributing blogger at SBC voices.  You can see a link to the site on the left of the blog page here.  I got this blog included in their listings a few days ago, and then I noticed a post about the possibility of helping with the site.  Since my school work has given me a much greater appreciation and enjoyment in writing, I asked to help out and have been given the chance.  My first post went up early Thursday morning and is entitled “From Doubting to Disciple Making.”  Stop by there and check it out if you get a chance.

We had a great Bible study again tonight discussing Mark 13 and we also talked about Exodus 33:18-34:7.  The first passage led to some fun discussion about eschatology and God’s hand in history.  The second passage was a discussion of God’s eternal grace and the fact that God has always been a God of love.  It dovetails from the post a few days ago here about Romans 10:4 and God’s Law being best understood as perfect love.

So, if I am slow to respond to a comment or it looks like I am missing, just pretend I am doing school work like I should be.  In the meantime, I will try not to drag out the “heavy theology” or the “rabid apologetics” while I am studying these courses the next eight weeks.

Categories: Apologetics, Christianity, Discipleship, Love, personal, School, Southern Baptist | 5 Comments

Post navigation

5 thoughts on “A Few Random Thoughts

  1. Jeff,

    Please don’t forsake the “heavy theology” stuff. I, personally, would love that. (But then, I’m sick like that…just kidding.)

    Congrats on the SBC Voices. I’ll be heading over there to check it out.

    Have a great weekend, brother.

    Joe.

  2. Keep your nose in those books!! 😀

  3. Joe,
    The older I get the more I try to focus on “practical theology” i.e. the stuff that impacts our life as believers. My joke about “heavy theology” is a desire to minimize the theoretical battles that so many love to engage in at times. I promise I won’t stop bringing some of these things up for discussion, but I don’t have the same stomach for arguing that I used to have. In reality any theology that doesn’t apply to real life isn’t worth talking about anyway.
    Steve,
    Thanks for the encouraging admonition. 🙂 I think these classes will be easier to manage than the last two I did.

  4. I would love to see the sylibi! thanks!
    I think it is great when we aargue on our blogs, steel sharpens steel and all, but we need a united front before the unbeliever.

  5. Will,
    I will email the syllabi (syllabuses) from my current classes to you. I don’t know how they would feel about me posting them online.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.